May Day Bunting with mums and toddlers group Home Start


On Monday 19th April I had lots of fun in the afternoon with the Mums and toddlers group at Clayton Brook run by Home start. I am a member of the South Ribble Arts Forum and they are holding a big event for families on May Day Bank Holiday Monday 3rd May. To encourage people to go to the event they are doing arty crafty sessions with different local groups to encourage them to visit the event its self.

My brief – ” to make some May Day bunting with the group, children age few weeks to 5 years”  Theres a challenge in itself with such a wide age range. “There could be 15-30 children attending and you have about an hour and twenty mins to work with them before they change activities!” So there was another challenge. So after racking my brain and waiting for inspiration to strike I came up with plain white bunting and hand prints done with fabric paint, then paint the group name and logo along the bottom of the bunting putting a letter in each point. I bought the bunting as I didnt have time to make it ( only asked to do this as the Easter School holidays started) and found some lovely bunting on www.cottonbunting.co.uk and then got some fabric paints.

So here is the table I set up and had started the prints age 2 weeks to 5 years I did.

 
The little ones came and sat with mums and then after choosing which colour they wanted I printed their hand print onto the bunting. Here’s some of the artists.

The bunting when finished be on display in the Worden art gallery on Monday 3rd May at the May day event which starts late morning. After this the bunting will be given to the Clayton Brook Homestart family group to keep and use.

I also run a pre school group at Fired 4 U on the first thursday of the month called Mini Potters please see http://www.fired4u.co.uk/page9.htm

I would love to receive your comments about this activity, Thanks Jane

Leave a Reply

